A poem for people who give up on their pets

Mommy, do you miss me?

I remember when you loved me, you picked me up and held me in your arms.
I remember when you held me, you kissed me and said to me, my baby is so beautiful.
I remember when you combed my hair and wiped my body with a soft cloth.
I remember when I was sleeping next to you on a huge bed, on a pillow, next to your hair with such sweet smell.
I remember the toys you bought for me, and the time we played together so much fun.
I remember every morning, I purred, and used my paw touching your face to wake you up.
I remember your sweet smile, and your voice like singing, “Good morning, my little treasure”, when you opened your eyes.
I remember those delicious food that you bought for me, and I always had so many type of food.
I remember how I loved you, I adored you, I admired you so much.
Mommy, do you miss me?

I remember when you brought home a man, and introduced him to me.
I remember you said that, he’s my husband, I love him very much, and he loves you too.
I remember he didn’t seem like a cat lover, but you loved him so I would love him too.
I remember he always shouted, and scared me with heavy footsteps.
I remember he didn’t try to be mean to me, but always ignored me when I begged him to hold me a bit.
I remember he said that cat can’t go into the bedroom, so I couldn’t sleep on your pillow anymore.
I remember I couldn’t wake you up every morning anymore.
Mommy, do you miss me?

I remember one day, you came home with a sweet smelling pack on your arms.
I remember you hold it tightly and said, this is my child and I love him very much.
I remember I thought to myself, if mommy love it then I will love it too.
I remember how I was so curious about it, sniffing it, because it had your smell but it was so small just like me.
I remember the man was scared when I sniff the baby. He said I could hurt it.
I remember I got put outside, where I never been to, and I was terrified.
I remember I sat outside, crying and begging you to come inside.
I remember you didn’t even take a step out to bring me in.
I remember that night, other cats came to me, looked at me in the dark and laughed, and picked on me.
I remember I was so scared that they might bite me, because I no longer had any claw to defend.
I remember I sat by the door all night, so scared and lonely.
I remember he said he couldn’t sleep because I kept on crying, so you have to get rid of me.
I remember you put me into a box, and don’t even look at my eyes once.
Mommy, do you ever miss me?

I remember the box got thrown out of the moving car, and it hit the road so hard.
I remember when I got out of it, I couldn’t figure out where I was and where you were.
I remember I waited for so long, hoping you would come and save me.
I remember I was so hungry, thirsty, lost, lonely, and scared.
I remember I had to find food in the garbage.
I remember other cats chased me, slapped me, bit me, because I was in their territory.
I remember I tried to find you, tried to find your scent in every light wind. And I couldn’t feel where you were.
I remember I ran to find you, so much that my feet bled.
I remember my beautiful soft hair became so dirty, my strong body became so thin because of hunger.
I remember the monster with the eyes so bright hit me on the road.
I remember the pain, such horrible pain, mommy! And I felt blood coming out of my mouth.
I remember I couldn’t move, my legs couldn’t even slide a little.
I remember how I needed you more than ever in my whole life. But you didn’t come!
I remember how I loved you so much, so much like the loneliness, the terror, and the pain when I’m dying here.

Mommy, do you miss me?

.

Animal is not something you used once, then throw away. They have thoughts, feelings, memories, and can be hurt.

Source: Một bài viết cảm động về tình trạng ngược đãi và bỏ rơi thú cưng

Translated by Nana3B

Author: Nana3B

When the world turn their back to you, let me bring you the wind, show you the fire, and kiss you by the rain.

Leave a comment